Approved for the R350 grant? This is when you can collect your money at the post office

Approved for the R350 grant? This is when you can collect your money at the post office

The SA Post Office (Sapo) will be paying out the Covid-19 R350 grants this week to all applicants who were approved by the South African Social Security Agency (Sassa).

 

The social relief of distress (SRD) grant was reintroduced last month to provide assistance to “persons in dire material need that are unable to meet their families’ most basic needs”, including those affected by the Covid-19 pandemic and unrest in parts of KwaZulu-Natal and Gauteng.

Sapo spokesperson Johan Kruger told TimesLIVE that all post office branches will pay out the SRD grants.

He said payout dates are determined by the last three digits of the beneficiary’s ID number. This system was introduced in the first phase of the grants to prevent overcrowding at branches.

Kruger said applicants will be notified when it’s time to collect their grants.

“They will receive an SMS from Sassa to say the grant is ready for collection. We are also working on an SSD code, which the beneficiaries will soon be able to use on their phones to check if there is money waiting for them,” he said.

One week of the month is reserved for old age, disability and child grant payments, with SRD payments made in the other weeks.

Here are the payment dates for this week and September, according to the last three digits of beneficiaries’ ID numbers:

080

Tuesday August 31

Tuesday September 14

Tuesday September 21

Tuesday September 28

081

Wednesday September 1

Wednesday September 15

Wednesday September 22

Wednesday September 29

082

Thursday September 9

Thursday September 16

Thursday September 23

Thursday September 30

083

Friday September 10

Friday September 17

Friday October 1

084

Monday September 13

Monday September 20

Monday September 27

085

Tuesday August 31

Tuesday September 14

Tuesday September 21

Tuesday September 28

086

Wednesday September 1

Wednesday September 15

Wednesday September 22

Wednesday September 29

087

Thursday September 9

Thursday September 16

Thursday September 23

Thursday September 30

088

Friday September 10

Friday September 17

Friday October 1

089

Monday September 13

Monday September 20

Monday September 27

These dates are applicable to thepost office payout system. Beneficiaries can receive their grants as soon as they receive confirmation of payment from Sassa.

 

Updated: October 5, 2021 — 15:20